Elections – 2022

Unifor Local 6007 Elections – Sonny Malhotra Acclaimed President

Posted November 16, 2022

Due to a lack of opponents, Sonny Malhotra returns to the role of President for another term.

Updates on the candidates for the other positions are coming soon.

Unifor Local 6007 Elections – Call for Candidates

Posted October 11, 2022

This is a fantastic opportunity to join like-minded individuals and learn how to fight for your rights! If you are interested in any of these positions, please email naseemsiddiqui@unifor6007.com.

The deadline to put your name in is Thursday November 10th, 2022, by 11:59 pm.

Here are the positions that are up for election.

  • President
  • Steward (Sales)
  • Steward (Clerical)
  • Steward (Comtech)
  • Health & Safety Rep (Sales)
  • Health and Safety Rep (Clerical)
  • Health and Safety Rep (Comtech)
  • Women’s Committee (to a max of 8 women)

If you would like to know more about the role, please email Sonny Malhotra or call at

Sales Bargaining Agent Election Results

Congratulations to Fazal Vankalwala for being re-elected as the Sales Bargaining Agent.

Full election results can be viewed here (PDF).

Treasurer Election Results

Posted February 28, 2022

Congratulations to Shahood Haque, the new Treasurer! See the details here. (PDF)

Treasurer Election

Posted February 21, 2022

Learn more about the candidates for the position of Treasurer. Click on each name below.

Elect Shahood Haque – Elected Re-Elect Dayanand Sabhnani

Election Results – Acclamation

Posted February 8, 2022

Congratulations to the people mentioned below, who won their positions by acclamation (they were the only people nominated for their listed positions when nominations closed on midnight of January 31, 2022).

Please note there will still be elections, as not everything was acclaimed (see below).

Executive Positions

  • Secretary: Naseem Siddiqui
  • Chief Steward (Winback): Qayum Mohammed
  • Chief Steward (HHLT): Fazal Vankalwala
  • Chief Steward (Clerical): Leo Santaluce

All positions are acclaimed; voting is not required.

Trustee Positions

  • Trustee: Lorraine McAulay
  • Trustee: Tanvir Malik


Two nominations were received for the position of treasurer.

  • Dayanand “Dilip” Sabhnani (Incumbent)
  • Shahood Haque

Voting will be held to determine who will be treasurer.

The Elections

Elections will take place on Monday, February 28, 2022 for Treasurer. Voting will be done online by secret ballot. Members can vote from 9:00 AM to 5.00 PM. Additional details and instructions will be posted soon.

To vote, each member is required to provide the union with their personal email address together with employee number. The Bell email cannot be used due to privacy, access, and other issues.

Please note that only members who provide their personal email addresses with employee numbers will be able to vote as well as receive a gift card.

Winners will be announced in the membership meeting scheduled on Monday, February 28, 2022 which will begin at 5.30 PM. This meeting will take place via Zoom. Instructions and a link for joining this meeting will be provided soon.

Unifor Local 6007 Elections

Posted December 2021

There are 5 executive positions opened in the new year and two trustee positions:

  • Clerical Chief Steward
  • HHLT Chief Steward
  • Winback/Sales Chief Steward
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Trustee #1 (1-Year Term)
  • Trustee #2 (2-Year Term)


Update: Nominations are closed. The deadline for all nominations was January 31st, 2022.


Elections will be conducted by secret ballot vote. Elections will be held by a third-party online voting company. There shall be no proxy, write-in, or sticker voting. Election time frame will be up to the discretion of the Election Committee.

The Election of Officers, delegates, and representatives shall be by majority vote of the votes cast in a secret ballot, via electronic voting. Not less than thirty (30) days prior to the election, notice of election shall be posted. Failure to comply may fall under Article 18 (c) of the constitution, Charges. Each member shall be entitled to one vote. There shall be no absentee voting, no voting by proxy, write-in, or sticker voting.

All members can vote for the Treasurer and Secretary roles. For the Chief Steward positions, it will be only the members in their respective units that can vote (for example,  only Clerical members can vote for the Clerical Chief Steward; not Sales, HHLT, etc.)